Qu’ils mangent de la brioche?

The wedding cake for Team Whitworth

My little sister Kimberley got married on the 1st of May.

Kimberley asked me to make her wedding cake, something to fit in with her Marie Antoinette inspired theme; this was the photo she gave me for inspiration…

EEEEEK! I’d only ever made one wedding cake before…and it was my own!! How on Earth would I be able to recreated something so grand(e), romantic, indulgent and expensive…

Off to the drawing board (and Google University) for a crash course on metallic piping work, dummy cakes, moulding edible jewels and cameo brooches…scary!

We decided to go with a classic fruit cake; you don’t get much more classic than Delia’s!  The top couple of tiers were made using soya butter as the bride-to-be has a lactose intolerance.  The bride needed to be able to scoff a piece after months of intermittent fasting and kettle bell training for the big day…girl worked HARD! (as did the groom!)

It turned out that piping in gold requires first piping in a caramel coloured royal icing, then hand-painting everything in a mixture of alcohol and gold dust…TWO COATS!  Cut to a three day montage of tiers, tears and a kitchen splattered in gold (I actually started swigging the kirsch I was mixing with the dust).

I decided to make sugar flowers and not stuff as many in as the inspiration picture did.  I liked the idea of the cake looking more delicate and light…and I really couldn’t make that many sugar roses!

So after a couple of weeks hard baking…

I’m generally happy with it.  I tried to incorporate the theme through the icing…the base was made to represent a grand ball room, the top two tiers are iced with a subtle king and queen motif.

Some of the piping is slightly off, I kept getting gold dust on the blue which was a nightmare to remove (cue another montage of kirsch soaked cotton buds and more tears…and more kirsch swigging) and left marks.  The icing dried out in the hot weather and crazed in places…and the biggest edible tier was slightly over-baked so was a little dry.

The most important thing is that the bride and groom liked it…I was so worried that I’d let them down.

As you can see, though the cake is quite pretty, it is not a patch on the happy couple!  My little sister is a beauty!


Posted on May 7, 2011, in Celebration Cakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

