Slattery Chocolate Course

Like the movie without the Oompa Lumpas…

So for Christmas my lovely in-laws got me a chocolate making course at Slattery’s!  It was sooo much fun!

I wasn’t sure how much I’d get out of it other than some delicious goodies and a fat arse but I learned so much.  They focus the courses on developing skills you can replicate and build on at home and give piles of tips on how to modify techniques for use in your own kitchen.

In the three and a half hours we;

  • Learned about chocolate, where it comes from, the different types
  • Learned how to temper chocolate and why…and how to do it without the mess at home!
  • Made a chocolate teddy bear, chocolate cups, truffles, lollipops, decorative chocolate sweeties
  • Ate so much molten chocolate it came out my nose!
The best part of the day was getting to play with the big troughs of molten chocolate…they had big waterwheels and pouring waterfalls; I was so close to doing an “Augustus”.

Julie the instructor was a darling!  She used to be a pastry chef, was a chocolate fountain of knowledge and confidently kept control of a group of giddy adults on sugar highs with faces covered in chocolate.
So, here’s the massive pile of chocolate goodness I made:

As you can see, there is much room for improvement…so I really should buy the 10kg bag of couverture chocolate for some home practising!!!

I really want to book on some more of the courses…anyone interested in joining me?!

Posted on May 7, 2011, in Experimental, Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

