Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes!

Yesterday was Skeplit which meant Wondercat Bakery had Skepticakes to make (with a hangover from far too much Belgian beer sampling).

We had planned to make some ice-cream cones for ages and finally after visiting SIX supermarkets we found the cup cornets needed! Seriously, six supermarkets over the last few weeks, who was buying up all the cup cornets…ridic-uuuuuu-lous!

I used my super quick, sure fire sponge recipe…I can’t believe I’m sharing this…I can hear the clack of Victoria sponge purists clutching their pearls in horror…

Speedy, sure-fire sponge

  • 110g SR flour
  • 110g unrefined caster sugar
  • 110g unsalted butter
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Pinch o’ salt
  • Flavourings (we used a splash of almond extract)

Whack everything in a bowl
Whisk until light, pale and smooth
Spoon into 12 cupcake cases or a lot more cornets (see below!)
170C for 17 minutes…cornets took about 21 (I’m slightly anal about my timings- there’s no greater crime than an over cooked sponge. You were either a) not paying enough attention or b) really stupid and sat there watching them burn).

I told you…you could make them with your feet it’s that simple!
This is only for haste mind you…I expect full creaming of butter and sugar if you have the time!

Disaster struck!!! Having never baked in cornets before I had no idea how much batter to put in each one; I obviously used to much!

OVERSPILL!! NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!! Forget muffin top, we had a grade 5 penniculus going on!

The Swiss-meringue butter cream we used to simulate vanilla ice-cream was quite successful but took ages to make (and I burnt my face somehow with the temperature probe covered in molten sugar…I get bored easily, I think I was trying to take my temperature). It worked wonders on the hangover: cut to the forehead “arc of shame” from sticking my face in the bowl to lick up every last buttery scrap…Yes, I’m disgusting, deal with it, I have.

Vanilla ice-cream frosting

  • 60g egg white
  • 140g caster sugar
  • 250g unsalted butter (cubed and about 20 minutes out of the fridge)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • A dash of lemon juice
  • A smidgen of yellow food colouring

Heat the egg white and sugar over a bain-marie to 140f (it takes a while, don’t mess around or you’ll burn yourself…probably best to ask a grown-up to help you).
Pour the hot stuff into a cool mixing bowl and whisk, whisk, whisk. For about 10 minutes at least until it has cooled down to about room temperature.
Whisk in the butter cubes one at a time.
Add the vanilla and the lemon juice (I know vanilla ice-cream doesn’t taste like lemon but for some crazy reason this really added to that authentic ‘sat in my PJs watching Glee with a tub and a spoon’ taste)
Add the yellow, teeny bit at a time to get to that soft magnolia colour of my chilly mistress (there is just something about good vanilla ice-cream, it does something to me in my specials).

I guess they turned out so-so over all…definite room for improvement but there is potential…like a chubby girl with a pretty face.

I really wanted to spend more time on them and do the whole 99 thing with a flake and raspberry syrup and maybe chocolate hidden in the cone…but I was unprepared and not firing on all cylinders (check out that engine reference…manly! Grrr!).

Note to self: Don’t wing a recipe you’ve never made before when people are expecting cakes.

Mr Simon enjoyed his sample!

Posted on August 1, 2011, in Cupcakes, Disasters, Experimental, Skepticakes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Mykie – I have myself also been sitting on an ice cream cone inspired cupcake desire to bake for some time too! Also – experienced the same frustations on the cone hunt. Literally I have been EVERYWHERE…
    Finally found some and bought boxes and boxes… Now need an occasion to bake them! So pleased to see yours! GOod effort.!

  2. They were excellent though, and the overspilling sponge perfectly imitates melting ice cream, except that it’s less messy.

    It was awesome. You know us SkepLitters. We don’t mind as long as we have cake!

Leave a Reply

