Gourmet protein power pancake cake with fig…num and grrr!

Getting enough protein is majorly important especially if you’re doing any sort of exercise regime…ps. I think we all are supposed to be BTW.

Getting food with protein and low carbs is easy enough; getting food that is sweet is easy enough; getting both together and you are usually talking a claggy mess that is not that nice to eat.

There are recipes for protein pancakes floating about but TBH, they just don’t do it for me…I don’t want a stack I want a big old cakey munch munch!

I tinker with this recipe often and this weekend I added some AMAZING figs I found in Waitrose…delicious, but I always think figs look like badly bruised scrota…oh, and some almonds, because I love them.

brunch or high tea of big gay champions

Protein Power Pancake Cake

  • 200g egg stuff (I use 1 whole egg and make the rest up with egg white – go Two Chicks!!)
  • 50g low fat cottage cheese (try and scoop the less runny bits from the tub and use that)
  • 12.5g coconut flour
  • 15g vanilla whey powder
  • 12.5g wheatgerm
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • Splenda to taste (I use LOADS!)
  1. smoosh everything together with a hand blender
  2. whisk until it has lightened and increased in volume (it won’t be meringuey but it’ll get a bit lighter)
  3. pour into a heated greased pan (I use a little 8 inch frying pan) and cook over medium heat (and pre-heat the grill)
  4. this is when you can throw on some fruit or nuts or other stuff
  5. when bubbles start making their way to the surface whack under the grill until golden
  6. chow down whilst feeling healthy and virtuous!

Here’s how I see the basic mixture breaking down nutritionally:

how often do you think I actually slice and eat this thing with an ounce of decorum?

Good huh? Obviously you’ll have to add up any extra goodness you throw in like fruit, nuts a bar of chocolate chips (healthy good? not so much) but it’s super delicious, doesn’t taste like health food and feels like eating a whole cake thing and how often can you do THAT and not feel like queen of the piggies?!

slice of scrotum anyone? they even have little "seeds" in them

This sort of thing makes up a large proportion of my diet as I could totally miss out savoury food and not be at all bothered…living for the sweetness, oh the sweetness, SWEETNESS! This can get a little challenging when you’re trying to eat low calorie and low carb!

a knife, folk and a napkin...because this is how you eat when you're sweaty after working out(?)

This SHOULD fill you up for AGES…but it is so nummy I have been known to trot right back to the kitchen and get all pancake deja vu…I am HRH Princess Snowterlina of Oinkerville.

Posted on September 18, 2011, in Experimental and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Ew You have totally ruined figs for me now! Un-cool! Lol x

Leave a Reply

