Mocha Maple Marble Cake

Mr Simon has a new job! His wig has got a lot bigger…we’re talking Dolly Parton full on bouffant! Go Simon!

this isn't Simon, it is a teddy bear

As a congratulations treat, The Wondercat Bakery made him a little cake.

that damn bee has been noshing on my cake

We’ve been wanting to play about with ring marbling for a while and with the arrival of my order of Lorann flavour oils (OMG! Amazing BTW!) it was time to get mixing those colours and flavours!

oh, swirly! you may be wondering about the bee...me too.

I still have a huge selection of speciality coffee beans around so I went for a Java Kalibaru based coffee syrup and butter cream to add some pizazz (did I just say pizazz?). 

Mocha Maple Marble Cake with Java Karibaru

  • 110g SR flour
  • 110g butter (at room temperature)
  • 110g golden caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • pinch o’ salt
  • 10g cocoa powder
  • a few drops vanilla extract
  • a few drops of maple flavour oil

straight from the oven...swirly as a piggy tail

  1. Throw everything apart from the cocoa and flavouring in a bowl and whisk until light and fluffy
  2. Separate mix into two
  3. Mix cocoa and vanilla into one half
  4. Mix maple into the other half
  5. Put mixes into piping bags
  6. Pipe alternate blobs on top of each other into lined cake tin
  7. Tap tin on work-surface to settle and remove air bubbles
  8. Bake for 30-40 minutes at 170ºC or until about 98ºC internal temperature (my probe was out of batteries so I had to wing it!)
  9. Leave to cool 
  10. Level cake and cut in half…chow down on the off-cuts (Mmmmmm spoils of baking)!

    it appears the piggy tail was mine...I got all oinker on that bowl of cake spoils

  11. Brush bottom layer with coffee syrup
  12. Spread a thin layer of coffee butter cream
  13. Plonk on the top layer
  14. Spread with coffee butter cream
  15. Decorate (we used chocolate piping gels we had lying around)
  16. Present to loved one
  17. Indulge in sexytimes

Coffee Syrup

  • 100ml of coffee of your choice (I used Java Kalibaru which has a nummy dark roasted chocolatey taste)
  • 50g brown sugar
  1. Heat in a little pan until sugar disolves
  2. Leave to cool

Coffee Butter Cream

  • 50g softened butter
  • 100g icing sugar
  • 2 tbsp coffee syrup
  1. Whisk together until light and fluffy (do not eat…or make double and have a total lickfest with the bowl)

where is the cake fork?...in my hand, ready to strike

So the marble effect looked less ringy and more marbley but the colours contrasted well and the flavours were scrumptious (I have been putting maple oil in EVERYTHING!).  The coffee butter cream was nicely flavoured so don’t go too wild with the joe as it’d be soooo easy to get all coffee overkill.

The most important things was Simy liked it and was very grateful (if you know what I’m saying ;P).

this is Simon, not a teddy bear...how sexycute is my husband?!

I’m going to be making more versions of this I think but with different sponges to see what’ll happen…maybe angel food cake with a red velvet?  It could all end in disaster…silver lining; we get to eat the evidence of our failures!

I want more plates that are shaped like stuff

no cake for me...I was happy with the wine...

Happy Baking!

Posted on September 26, 2011, in Cake, Experimental and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. These posts really do get me through the day you know. I don’t bake but I love it

  2. I really like the awkward smiling bee place-mat — and the CAKE! There’s nothing like dessert baked with love. 😉

  3. I stole/borrowed I from my mum! It is my new favourite thing! X

  4. that looks soooo good, i’m salivating!! always wanted to make a marble cake but never got round to it… maybe I’ve just found myself a weekend project 😀

Leave a Reply

