Brushed Icing Flower Cupcakes or Autumnal Flavour Orgasmicakes

Well this week has been H.O.T!

Far too warm to be baking really which is strange as it’s October; I’ve been sorting out my scarves and gloves for the A/W season…then heatwave!

too pretty to eat? erm, no...nom nom nom

This meant that I was making Baby Shower cupcakes in my underwear on a humid Friday evening…

Almond Cupcakes with Maple-Amarula Butter Cream (makes 12)

  • 165g SR flour
  • 165g Unsalted Butter
  • 165g Golden Caster Sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • Pinch o’ Salt
  • 1 tsp Almond Extract (good stuff)
  1. Cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy
  2. Whisk in eggs
  3. Fold in everything else
  4. Put 45g-50g in each case
  5. Bake at 160ºC for about 25-30 mins

once again The Wondercat Bakery over uses photo editing apps...deal with it.


  • 60g Unsalted Butter
  • 120g Icing Sugar
  • 2 tsp Maple Syrup
  • 1 tbsp Amarula
  1. Whisk it all together until light and fluffy
  2. It’ll be quite loose in texture as this is for spreadin’ not pipin’

one for you, one for me...sorry, I got that wrong...two for me, none for you


To decorate I cut out fondant with a diameter about 3cm larger than the cakes.  You need enough room to give a nice dome and still tuck right to the edges…my first got ripped off as it was far to small even though it looked majorly big enough p.s. b.t.w. f.y.i… the icing needs to be quite thickly rolled or it looks super lumpy on the cake…not pretty.

brusha, brusha, brusha, brush me...I wanna be gree-eedy!

I’ve been wanting to try the old brush embroidery for a while…unfortunately I decided on multiple small flowers per cake so the brush strokes overlapped…not as lacy delicate as I wanted but hey ho, I think it suits the cakes and looks  tooootally Lilo and Stitch/Hawaii…cute!!!!

CAKE!

So easy to do, it just takes a bit of time…I’ll put together a brush embroidery tutorial post in the near future.

So the end result?  They got positive reviews from the Baby Shower (but T.B.H. who would tell you your cakes taste like shite in a silver wrapper?), I really enjoyed the flavour combo…the almond and maple gave a rich, slightly caramel flavour and the Amarula added a creamy, ripe fruit twist leaving the warmth of alcohol behind…total sensory sexytimes!

I literally heart cake

Definitely a flavour combo to help you welcome in the autumn…and you end up with a big bottle of Amarula to sip on…happy days!

Posted on October 3, 2011, in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love Amarula! I work at a liquor store and they used to package it in this gaudy leopard print velvet covered bottle and all these old ladies from the seniors center, ones with blue eyeliner and hot pink lipstick, would come in droves and buy it all up — too funny!

    Lovely cupcakes!

  2. Amazing! What’s the brush embroidery you mention?
    Also, do you always use that sponge recipe base [eg flour,butter,sugar,egg] proportion? I’ve been playing with one with milk in for a while now you see… Do you use same for your big cakes?

    • After many sponge experiments this is the ratio I use for all cakes that don’t gave any extra dry or liquids added…it’s fail safe, moist, buttery, not eggy tasting…it’s my baking back bone!
      Brush embroidery is using a wet brush to manipulate piped icing…I’m plannng to have a proper attempt tomorrow! X

  3. TheVanillaDuck

    So Pretty! 😀

Leave a Reply

