Psycho Sunday: Gateaux Joely

This afternoon was spent eating cake and discussing psychopaths whilst sat in a rocket ship…

tea, a good book and cake...sorry; tea, a good book as cake.

No lie, all true!  It was Skeplit: Psycho Sunday and we were discussing Jon Ronson’s “The Psychopath Test”.  The new and much improved location for Skeplit is the Rocket in TV21 Manchester! Meeeeeeoooooooommmmmbbbbbrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrpppppuuuuuuuuuuuuuuukkkkkkk (that’s my rocket noise)

A rocket...with tables and chairs inside...and Ren & Stimpy playing on TV.

It was also a chance to present Ms Joely with her belated birthday cake.

I wanted to make a cute, personalised cake so I picked a few things that come to mind when I think of her.

  • 1) Tea: She enjoys a nice cuppa.
  • 2) Book: She is the author of the AMNAR book series.
  • 3) A charm quark: subatomic particle and subject of her twitter name…also a cute toy from Particle Zoo

subatomic in size...huge in cuteness

  • 4) Chocolate: Her cake flavour of choice

So, here’s what we came up with!

Gateaux Joely

Chocolate Cake with Dark Chocolate Ganache and Caramel Sauce…all concealed in pale blue and white (no easy task!)!

Joely as three edible things...

I have to say that the book and the quark were not too difficult to construct…the teapot on the other hand was a total mother fucker!

son of Keldar

did I almost make a chocolate teapot?

I think Joely was happy with the cake and it was all gobbled up whilst discussing psychos…in a rocket ship…did I mention we were in a ROCKET SHIP!?!?!

strange lighting, that's rocket ship ambiance

half om nomed

I haven’t included the recipe but if anyone wants chocolate num num, I’ll post it as a follow up.

Wondercat CEO inspects the merchandise

I’ll sign off with a basket of cat…

Wondercat CEO got sleepsy

Have a nice week everyone!

Posted on October 23, 2011, in Cake, Celebration Cakes, Skepticakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. After I read excerpts of Jon Ronson’s book I spent the next week thinking EVERYONE I knew was some kind of demented psychopath! Fascinating conversation, perfect with tea and beautiful cake, for sure. 🙂

  2. Damn! That’s one hot, scrumptious man-truncheon luncheon!

Leave a Reply

